Evolution of hearing aids

1. Early history

Back in the early days, people simply resorted to holding their hand behind their ears or used animal horns.

2. Mechanical era


German scientist Athanasius Kircher invented the speaking tube in 1650. He also invented a twisted tube modelled on the shape of the inner ear. In the 18th century, Claude-Nicolas Le Cat made the first ear trumpet capable of amplifying sound by 15 decibels. In 1841, a British surgeon developed the acoustic chair. The chair had a raised back fitted with two ear-like wings on either side that could capture sound, as well as a tube of compressed air that served to amplify sound.

3- Electric era


Did you know that Alexander Graham Bell, whose wife and daughter were deaf, tried to develop hearing aids by converting sound waves into electric impulses, which then led to his invention of the telephone?

1905 saw the development of a portable electric hearing device composed of a microphone worn around the neck, a battery and an amplifier. In 1920, the Vactuphone, a small box roughly the size of a suitcase, arrived on the scene. It was equipped with a microphone with a wire connection to the ear. By 1925 the Vactuphone had shrunk so much in size, users could carry it in their pockets. In 1937, an even more compact and effective hearing aid called the Sonotone was launched.

4- Electronic era


With the development of the transistor in 1947, electronics began to be incorporated into hearing aids. By 1953 the Sonotone had evolved to include a transistor and a vacuum tube, resulting in an even more compact size and enhanced sound quality. The use of transistors made it possible to offer much more compact hearing devices, leading to the introduction, in 1956, of analogue behind-the-ear hearing aids. Shortly after, the first hearing aids built into eyeglass frames were designed. The first in-ear hearing aids became available in the mid-1970s. While digital technology came into use as a programming feature from the late 1980s onward, the amplification functions of hearing aids continued to rely on analogue technology. The first fully digital devices became available in 1996, paving the way for the highperformance hearing aid styles available today.

Minor Repairs and Verification

An evaluation is required by a hearing care professional to determine if the hearing aid is suitable for the patients needs.

Par YMarketing

Évolution des prothèses

1. Préhistoire

À cette époque, on utilise simplement la technique de la main derrière l'oreille ainsi que des cornes d'animaux.

2. Période mécanique


Un chercheur allemand, Athanasius Kircher, invente le premier tube acoustique en 1650. Il invente également un tube torsadé rappelant la forme de l'oreille interne. Au 18e siècle, Claude-Nicolas Le Cat crée un cornet acoustique pouvant amplifier le son jusqu'à 15 décibels.

3- Période électrique


Petite note intéressante : Comme sa femme et sa fille étaient sourdes, Alexander Graham Bell a tenté de mettre au point des prothèses auditives en transformant les ondes sonores en impulsions électriques. C'est ainsi qu'il a inventé le téléphone. En 1905, on met au point une prothèse électrique portative constituée d'un microphone porté au cou, d'une batterie et d'un amplificateur. Un an plus tard, on utilise une petite boîte d'environ la taille d'une valise, appelé vactuphone, munie d'un microphone relié à l'oreille par un câble. Déjà, en 1925, on miniaturise le vactuphone. Il peut désormais être transporté dans la poche. En 1937, on met au point le sonotone qui est plus petit et plus efficace.

4- Période électronique


C'est en 1947, grâce à l'apparition du transistor, qu'on introduit l'électronique dans les prothèses auditives. En 1953, le sonotone utilise le transistor en plus d'un tube à vide offrant une taille réduite et une meilleure qualité sonore. En 1956, le transistor permet une importante miniaturisation des appareils auditifs. On commence à utiliser le contour d'oreille analogique. Peu de temps après, on pense à incorporer une prothèse auditive aux branches de lunettes. Vers les années 1975, on voit l'apparition des prothèses intra-auriculaires. La programmation numérique fait son apparition autour de l'années 1987. Par contre, l'amplification est toujours analogique. Les premiers appareils complètement numériques entrent sur le marché vers 1996. C'est ce qui permet aujourd'hui d'obtenir des prothèses auditives plus efficaces et plus stylisées.

Vérifications et réparations mineures

Une évaluation par un audioprothésiste est requise afin de déterminer si la prothèse auditive convient aux besoins du patient.

Par YMarketing